Ritual is still so habitual

I guess I’m not done with the topic of the prior post, in part because what I posted about didn’t quite hit what I was initially thinking about.

The other difficulty I wonder about with changing language and changing ritual is just the “feel” of the new material. It’s difficult to get around habit and our existing expectations, and entire congregations have been formed after someone wanted some liturgical element in or out of a service.

So the challenge for really any innovating religious group looking to grow is balancing the need to be true to principle and the need to fit into congregants’ comfort zones–especially the new congregants who come along as a response to philosophical/spiritual resolution.

I don’t have answers for this; but it’s something I think about. Sort of the pains of growth, I suppose.

